GetFoodFacts

Food

Grits nutrition facts

A typical portion of grits (1 cup, cooked; 240 g, not further specified) has 170 calories and 3g of protein (USDA FoodData Central). USDA lists 10 descriptions of it: per 100 g they range from 58 calories (regular or quick, made with water, no added fat) to 108 (with cheese, NS as to fat).

Nutrition Facts

Serving size1 cup, cooked (240g)
Amount per serving
Calories170
% Daily Value*
Total Fat 4.5g6%
Saturated Fat 1.5g9%
Trans Fat not declared
Cholesterol 5mg2%
Sodium 190mg8%
Total Carbohydrate 29g11%
Dietary Fiber 2g6%
Total Sugars 0g
Includes Added Sugars not declared
Protein 3g6%
Vitamin D 0mcg0%
Calcium 10mg1%
Iron 1.1mg6%
Potassium 50mg1%

* The % Daily Value (DV) tells you how much a nutrient in a serving of food contributes to a daily diet. 2,000 calories a day is used for general nutrition advice. Protein % DV here is not corrected for protein quality.

USDA values per 100 g for Grits, NFS, scaled to the portion. Check the USDA record.

Protein per 100 g
1.2g
more than 18% of 8,218 USDA reference foods
Calories per 100 g
71
more than 21% of reference foods
Sodium per 100 g
81mg
more than 54% of reference foods

1 cup, cooked weighs 240 g in USDA's record for Grits, NFS (FDC 2708363).

Where the calories come from: 70% carbohydrate, 24% fat and 7% protein (4 calories a gram of protein or carbohydrate, 9 of fat).

Also rich in

  • Thiamin0.4 mg in 1 cup, cooked (240 g), 31% of the Daily Value
  • Folate67 µg DFE in 1 cup, cooked (240 g), 17% of the Daily Value
  • Selenium6.2 µg in 1 cup, cooked (240 g), 11% of the Daily Value

Source: USDA FoodData Central (FDC 2708363), every nutrient the record reports; FDA Daily Values, 21 CFR 101.9.

Every form of grits USDA describes

With cheese, fat not specified has the most calories per 100 g (108); the fewest: Regular or quick, made with… (58)

Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58Calories per 100 g by USDA description of gritsNot further specified71With cheese, no added fat97With cheese, fat not specified108Instant, made with water, no…65Instant, made with water, fat…85Regular or quick, made with…58
Per 100 g, USDA FoodData Central. The violet bar is the form on the label at left.

Every nutrient in this record (65)

The portion is 1 cup, cooked (240 g); % DV is for that portion.

Energy, macronutrients and sugars (12)
NutrientPer portionPer 100 g% DV
Protein2.86 g1.19 g6%
Total lipid (fat)4.42 g1.84 g6%
Carbohydrate, by difference29.3 g12.2 g11%
Energy170 kcal71.0 kcal
Alcohol, ethyl0 g0 g
Water203 g84.4 g
Total Sugars0.24 g0.10 g
Fiber, total dietary1.68 g0.70 g6%
Cholesterol7.20 mg3.00 mg2%
Fatty acids, total saturated1.75 g0.73 g9%
Fatty acids, total monounsaturated1.11 g0.46 g
Fatty acids, total polyunsaturated0.92 g0.38 g
Minerals (9)
NutrientPer portionPer 100 g% DV
Calcium, Ca9.60 mg4.00 mg1%
Iron, Fe1.08 mg0.45 mg6%
Magnesium, Mg16.8 mg7.00 mg4%
Phosphorus, P40.8 mg17.0 mg3%
Potassium, K50.4 mg21.0 mg1%
Sodium, Na194 mg81.0 mg8%
Zinc, Zn0.29 mg0.12 mg3%
Copper, Cu0.034 mg0.014 mg4%
Selenium, Se6.24 µg2.60 µg11%
Vitamins (23)
NutrientPer portionPer 100 g% DV
Retinol38.4 µg16.0 µg
Vitamin A, RAE38.4 µg16.0 µg4%
Carotene, beta16.8 µg7.00 µg
Carotene, alpha0 µg0 µg
Vitamin E (alpha-tocopherol)0.43 mg0.18 mg3%
Vitamin D (D2 + D3)0 µg0 µg0%
Cryptoxanthin, beta0 µg0 µg
Lycopene0 µg0 µg
Lutein + zeaxanthin2.40 µg1.00 µg
Vitamin C, total ascorbic acid0 mg0 mg0%
Thiamin0.38 mg0.16 mg31%
Riboflavin0.11 mg0.047 mg9%
Niacin1.49 mg0.62 mg9%
Vitamin B-60.13 mg0.056 mg8%
Folate, total45.6 µg19.0 µg
Vitamin B-120 µg0 µg0%
Choline, total6.00 mg2.50 mg1%
Vitamin K (phylloquinone)2.16 µg0.90 µg2%
Folic acid33.6 µg14.0 µg
Folate, food9.60 µg4.00 µg
Folate, DFE67.2 µg28.0 µg17%
Vitamin E, added0 mg0 mg
Vitamin B-12, added0 µg0 µg
Fatty acids (19)
NutrientPer portionPer 100 g% DV
SFA 4:00.062 g0.026 g
SFA 6:00.043 g0.018 g
SFA 8:00.026 g0.011 g
SFA 10:00.058 g0.024 g
SFA 12:00.070 g0.029 g
SFA 14:00.22 g0.090 g
SFA 16:00.89 g0.37 g
SFA 18:00.34 g0.14 g
MUFA 18:11.05 g0.44 g
PUFA 18:20.85 g0.35 g
PUFA 18:30.072 g0.030 g
PUFA 20:40.0024 g0.0010 g
PUFA 22:6 n-3 (DHA)0 g0 g
MUFA 16:10.031 g0.013 g
PUFA 18:40 g0 g
MUFA 20:10.0072 g0.0030 g
PUFA 20:5 n-3 (EPA)0 g0 g
MUFA 22:10 g0 g
PUFA 22:5 n-3 (DPA)0.0024 g0.0010 g

Source: USDA FoodData Central, FDC 2708363: every value the record reports, per 100 g as USDA gives it and scaled to the portion; Daily Values: 21 CFR 101.9.

Source: USDA FoodData Central (SR Legacy, Foundation Foods and Survey foods), April 30, 2026 release.

Questions

How many calories are in grits?

170 in 1 cup, cooked (240 g) of not further specified; 58 to 108 per 100 g across USDA's descriptions.

How much protein is in grits?

3g in 1 cup, cooked; 1.2 g per 100 g.

How much sodium is in grits?

190mg in 1 cup, cooked; 81 mg per 100 g. Salt added in cooking changes it: USDA lists salted and unsalted forms separately where it measured both.

Sources for this page
USDA FoodData Central
the food and product records, April 30, 2026 release. fdc.nal.usda.gov
FoodData Central documentation
what each data type is and how branded records are submitted. fdc.nal.usda.gov
USDA Food and Nutrient Database for Dietary Studies
the survey foods and their portions. ars.usda.gov
21 CFR 101.9, Nutrition labeling of food
the label format, rounding and Daily Values. ecfr.gov
FDA, How to Understand and Use the Nutrition Facts Label
the 5% and 20% Daily Value rule. fda.gov